HE WAITS TOO!

GODS LOVEUsually I think about waiting on The Lord. But the other night God spoke to my heart. He said “I wait” As I thought more about what that meant I remembered my own fathers last words to me. ” My love for you is long and patient” I didn’t understand why my dad would say that to me. I chalked it up to the cancer that had gone to his brain. But those words haunted me for a few years.

Then one day, out of the blue, God gave me understanding. You see my dad knew my walls were up. My dad was willing to patiently wait until I let those walls come down and show his love to me. I put those walls up to protect myself.

Ok that’s the background.

The other night. my husband and I were at a marriage retreat. During worship, God spoke to my heart. He said “I wait”. I wondered what more God wanted to say. Then He said “I wait and watch. I wait for the walls to come down, I watch to see willingness”

“THEN I COME” 

Sometimes He comes in a gentle breeze. Sometimes He comes as a mighty rushing wind. But just like my dad waited for me to let him in God waits too!

I never thought my dad’s last words would become a parable. But it has! How cool is that!

 

9 thoughts on “HE WAITS TOO!

  1. Your beautiful words remind me of the parable of the Prodigal son. As Jesus told us, “But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and was filled with compassion for him; he ran to his son, threw his arms around him and kissed him.” (Luke 15:20) The father stood waiting and watching for his son. Just as God waits and watches for us, just as your father understood. I think such waiting requires a lot of love.
    Cheerio

  2. We only hear if we believe he speaks. More often he reaches our heart through our eyes as we see the message he sends in the wondrous universe he reared us in.

I WANT TO HEAR YOUR THOUGHTS

